Richmond DUI Lawyers
Arrested for driving while intoxicated in Virginia?
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious crime in the commonwealth of Virginia. If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), it is vital that you contact a Richmond criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. We know that if you don't act quickly, you can be putting your livelihood and freedom at risk.
Call our Richmond DUI attorney at (804) 215-1515 for defense today.
What to do if you’ve been charged with DWI in Virginia
Compared to many other states, DWI cases in Virginia are handled fairly quickly – your trial date will typically be within 60 days of the date you were charged. This narrow timeframe makes it especially important to act quickly to defend your rights, your driving privileges, and your freedom.
Stay off of social media
Increasingly, police and prosecutors are looking to social media for evidence that will help them secure a conviction. If you are undergoing any type of legal proceeding, especially a criminal or DWI matter, it is in your best interests to stop all public posts online until the conclusion of your case.
Find a dui attorney
Your license is automatically suspended for at least 7 days after DWI charges have been filed against you, but this suspension could be much longer – up to a year – if you are convicted. Hiring an attorney as soon as possible after your arrest not only gives us more time to build a strong defense for your criminal case, but also allows us to contest the revocation of your driving privileges.
What are the penalties for a conviction?
In Virginia, it is unlawful to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more, though convictions can result even from lower BACs.
- You face the possibility of a number of penalties, including:
- First-time DUI offenses can result in a minimum 5 days in jail, a minimum $250 fee, and one-year suspension of your driver's license.
- Second-time DUI offenses within five years can be punishable by 20-30-day jail sentences, a $500 fine, and three-year suspension of your driver's license.
- Three or more offenses within 10 years are felonies that can result in up to 5 years imprisonment and a $2,500 fine.
Remember that you have rights! Fight the charges against you with an aggressive Richmond DWI attorney on your side. We can represent you from the moment you are arrested to when your case is resolved.
Call (804) 215-1515 for your free consultation
Throop Law ensures that your needs are timely addressed. Being pulled over on suspicion of drunk or impaired driving can be stressful. Our firm works hard to minimize the charges against you, protect your driving privileges, and help you obtain the results you deserve.
For a free initial consultation, contact our Richmond DUI attorneys online. We represent the accused in the Richmond and Norfolk, VA areas.
The only one to give me lights of hope.- Angel K.
Took my case with care and consideration.- Mitchell M.
They did a outstanding job handling my case so I would have the best possible outcome.- Franchot G.
Handled my case with care.- Dawn K.
They made this a painless and seamless experience for me.- Angela S.